Injury recovery – a time for patience

September 2014

Hey There,

It’s been a while since my last post. Quite frankly, the primary reason being that there were so many things were going on at once (not all being of significance) that the thought of organizing them into a coherent message was overwhelming. Because I felt little need to make sense of my wonderful chaos, this post will, in turn may be quite chaotic.

My time has primarily involved recovering from my back injury. A reoccurring bulging disc in my lumbar spine. The bulge causes nerves surrounding my spinal column to get aggravated when I move and squish the disc, setting off a chain of events that include a severe tightening in all of my lower back and abdominal muscles creating the need for frequent stops to the bathroom and the inability to put on one’s socks, not to mention a level of geriatric mobility that makes my grandmother seem agile (correction: that makes anyone else’s grandmother seem agile as my grandmother, at the fresh age of 91, would put the average middle-aged man to shame).

Recovery is slow. I need to balance increasing mobility without causing another flare up. The positive part of this process is that you really get to focus on strengthening your weaknesses. While I am not able to run, jump or do any backflips, I have been able to work on my dance lines (straight legs, pointed toes), my shoulder strength and the ability to just sit and read a book (or two, or three). I have been learning a group silks routine that my troupe has given me. Minus the big drops or anything that involves touching my toes, I’ve managed to learn the whole thing. Everything feels great when you’re suspended upside down, 20 feet in the air and your spine is being decompressed…until you get tangled in the tissue and you feel like a little gerbil being held by its tale with no way out but up and that is a near impossible feat of strength when you don’t currently possess the core strength or trunk mobility to free yourself. I have since continued my training 3 feet from the ground where my coach can rescue me in times of such duress.

One of the highlights of my recovery, was being on the set of the TV series Arrow. I had the opportunity to be an extra for one of the scenes. Me and 140 other extras. It felt as if we were herded cattle as they quickly ushered us on and off set while they change the camera angles. That wasn’t the exciting part though. The exciting part was watching a stunt being filmed. Everything from the stunt choreographer rehearsing with the stunt man, the actor’s stand in marking the spot where the heroic action will take place, to the countless repetitions so that the stunt will look believable in the final cut. Watching that process solidified that I want to do that some day soon. I’ve never been so excited to be knocked to the ground.

Athlete Inspired

Leave a Reply

