That’s a wrap…to wedding season

IMG_20141031_185712

That’s my buddy Matt. Good friends since Grade 10 math class

Hey There,

So I survived my last wedding of the season. I have been everything from a bridesmaid, to a ceremonial leader to a general attendee. I have enjoyed all the weddings this year but this one was a great one to end on. No stress, super organized, great people, packed dance floor and an open bar. Need I say more.

Another quick trip back to Ontario to witness my very good friend from high school marry one of the coolest chicks ever. I am very fortunate to be friends with both the bride and the groom so when it came time to decide what side of the wedding party to stand with, it came down to one simple fact. The bride-to-be is a talented fashion designer and was making all of her bridesmaids’  dresses. The desire to break with tradition and rock a suit and tie with the other groomsmen was quickly trumped by the potential for a one of a kind fashion design. It has proved to be the only bridesmaid dress that I will truly wear again.

The bride and her 3 original designs

The bride and her 3 original designs

I made my social rounds as best I could before the big day. Squeezing in some quality time the fam, lunches with aunts, tea with former cross country coaches, and some serious hang time with my sister and my soon-to-be nephew. But when it was game time, I was ready. I was focused. Manicures and pedicures, rehearsal dinners with a ton of people whom I have never met before, early morning hair appointments, last minute ceremony details, and fancy make-up (which I could never replicate even after giving it 10,000 hours).

One of the most enjoyable parts of this wedding was the photoshoot. This photographer was hilarious and let us be ridiculous. It didn’t seem to matter much that the snow had begun to fall for the first time. We posed and reposed. I even got to strategically climb a tree for one of the group photos. The next most entertaining moment was my wedding party partner’s attempt at a dirty dancing lift during our reception walk-in. Let’s just say that I thought I made an excellent Patrick Swayze.

I returned to Vancouver exhausted but so very happy for two of my favourite people. I am ready to get back into intensive training until the Christmas break. Gotta rest up for the 2015 wedding season.

Athlete Inspired

Leave a Reply

