Travelling: Close calls and new nephews

Family day long weekend brought me out to Toronto to meet the newest member of my family, my little 8-pound  nephew. To make it into the company of this handsome young man, I first had to make it onto the plane. This proved to be a more difficult and expensive task then most are accustomed to. After squeezing in a full circus practice, running a couple of errands, I circled back to my place to finally pack. My initial plan to leave with a couple of hours to spare so that I may transit to the airport and avoid paying for over-priced parking. Then along came this thing called Netflix. 

Binge watching is a serious problem folks. By the time I had the ability to turn off my tv I had no choice but to drive and park at the Park’N Fly. That was until traffic left me only 40 minutes, leaving me no option but to park in the over priced, $30 (because we know you’re in a rush and will pay whatever it takes to be able to run to the terminal) a day lot. The only thing that got me onto that flight was my Nexus card. Damn you 10 seasons of Friends on Netflix. 



And then the moment that my nephew was placed into my arms, all of the travel induced adrenaline melted away. Any mom could tell that the feeling of holding your own flesh and blood is incredibly wonderful and amazing. Well holding your sibling’s child is a close second. I don’t think I have ever felt so calm as I did with that little guy in the crook of my elbow. 



Complete sidebar but I had to include this picture in my post cause it is too hilarious. The family went out for lunch and my brother and father show up, independently wearing the exact same thing. The result of nature and nurture  combined and amplified. 



So I got some quality family time in and had to jet back to Vancouver for work. I have been flying between Ontario and Calgary for almost 12 years. So when a flight from TOronto to Calgary was boarding at the gate right beside the one bound for Vancouver, I went from being first in line to board (the Calgary flight) to last in line to board the Vancouver flight. I was so confused as to where home was that it took me one whole in-flight movie and a cold beer to figure it out. Talk about auto-pilot gone wrong.

Athlete Inspired

Leave a Reply

